Exit Glacier-vaginal photography

vaginal photography
vaginal photography

Exit Glacier
This was taken in July of 2001 at Exit Glacier on the Kenai Fjords of Alaska just outside of Seward. It’s always been one of my favorites that serendipitously shows my early unconscious leanings towards my macro-lense microcosm focused photography of now. I had spent the day hiking to The Harding Icefield snapping pictures all the while of the vast scenery, magnanimous glaciers, and stark cold ice views into the seemingly infinite wonderful nothingness I wandered out for a while across the icefield armed with a thin army green wool peacoat, stocking cap, hiking boots and khaki Cargoes with no thermals underneath. I wasn’t necessarily prepared for the extreme cold and fog of 5,000 feet on a block of ice thats existed since the last iceage but i was determined to undergo the ordeal for the sake that, while more clothes lie 4 miles away and 4,000 feet down I was here, now and had to push further on into the remote, the scarce charted, the unseen and unknown. Being of thick blood luckily, once I got moving my body heat kicked in and I decided to walk a few miles into the abyss before deciding it was too cold, too dangerous and too foggy to really see anything worthwhile I veered east back towards Exit Glacier and figured it’d be visceral fun idea to walk the entire way back to the base atop Exit Glacier feeling wholly in tune and one with the glacier and my environment; so utterly minuscule and totally essential to the massive glacier and earth I tread upon. Once I reached the bottom the park viewing area was perfectly empty save for a park ranger who waited to chastise me for walking on the glacier for safety (ownership) reasons; he ultimately left me alone with a warning and scolding and I was able to wander again past the fences designating the safe hiking spot and get up close to my ice friend where I spotted and captured this image; originally drawn by the beautiful blueness in the ice it wasn’t until 3 months later that a friend pointed out how vaginal the composition and depiction was.

vaginal photography

