Small but Mighty Wandering Pearl-Wandering Son

Wandering Son
Wandering Son

Small but Mighty Wandering Pearl
"Small but Mighty Wandering Pearl", an installation by Mandy Greer

www.bumbershoot.org/lineup/softly-threatening

"Great transformations in our lives are often accompanied by a violent killing-off of old selves, and we emerge as something new, raw and exquisite. In my life, these transformations have twice come about from an excruciating love that has been signaled by an actual bloodletting. It took his ruptured organs and buckets of blood to allow myself to love my husband, and I’ll never forget the gush of beautiful viscera and what felt like the joyful expelling of my own internal organs when I gave birth to my son. Reading those entrails, I was a seer of an unknowable future." -Mandy Greer, 2006

holy cow, the labor that must have gone into this installation.

Wandering Son
Wandering Son

Pulpit rock taken by my son
I wanted to share this image as i am very proud of it, My son is 16 he is autistic and never used a camera before
when we went to Portland i gave him the sony H50 and said there you go just push that button,
Off he went wandering around he was very attracted to the waves for example i have about 50 shots of waves
ok the camera was set on auto so the sunlight to the side has affected the image but its interesting to see how his perspective on things
I think for first time camera use this is great and he has some really nice pictures to remember his holiday by,
we are going to sort them and make a scrap book

Wandering Son
Wandering Son

“Small but Mighty Wandering Pearl”
"Small but Mighty Wandering Pearl", an installation by Mandy Greer

www.bumbershoot.org/lineup/softly-threatening

"Great transformations in our lives are often accompanied by a violent killing-off of old selves, and we emerge as something new, raw and exquisite. In my life, these transformations have twice come about from an excruciating love that has been signaled by an actual bloodletting. It took his ruptured organs and buckets of blood to allow myself to love my husband, and I’ll never forget the gush of beautiful viscera and what felt like the joyful expelling of my own internal organs when I gave birth to my son. Reading those entrails, I was a seer of an unknowable future." -Mandy Greer, 2006

Wandering Son

