Albanian Wedding-albania wedding

albania wedding
albania wedding

Albanian Wedding
I was walking down the street in Vlorë, Albania, when the father of the bride invited me in to this wedding party.

Taken with my Olympus XA on Ektachrome. The annoying bleed is from the slide scanner I used in a public lab at the UM. They never clean those things. The slide is much sharper than this, and I will try to get a better scan.

A record company in Berlin recently contacted me for permission to use some of these photos on a CD they are releasing.

albania wedding
albania wedding

Wedding Party, Vlore, Albania 1996
(Robert Nagle, Albania 1995-7; I’m 2nd on the right). Weddings were crazy events. Though Albanians didn’t have a lot of money to spend on ceremonies (a sign probably of their intelligence!), they had elaborate ceremonies. Usually the bride (on the right) would have to wear the same makeup from Friday until Sunday, and there would be a series of feasts. Often it would be announced by a taxi or two honking its horn who would drive up to the pallati where the daughter lived. As it happens, the groom’s family (on right) lived across the hall from me. (They are the shopkeepers from one of my other photos). When they are partying only about 20 feet away, it’s hard to be inconspicuous! Perhaps it was out of guilt, but they ended up inviting me to a wedding feast for their immediate family on Sunday, the last night of the wedding. By this time, everyone was partied out although we still had a great time. I seem to remember that the husband ended up working illegally in Italy while supporting the wife. This kind of separation was very common during the time I lived in Albania (also, Vlore was only an hour trip away by speedboat from Italy).

albania wedding
albania wedding

Ben H. & Albanian wife, 1997, Albania
Ben H. was a PCV who married an Albanian in the last week before everybody was evacuated. He even had a surreal wedding video (where gunfire could be heard in the background of the outdoor celebration).

albania wedding

