Like A Bird On A Wire-Bird

Bird
Bird

Like A Bird On A Wire
Like a bird on the wire,
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.
Like a worm on a hook,
Like a knight from some old fashioned book
I have saved all my ribbons for thee.
If i, if I have been unkind,
I hope that you can just let it go by.
If i, if I have been untrue
I hope you know it was never to you.

Like a baby, stillborn,
Like a beast with his horn
I have torn everyone who reached out for me.
But I swear by this song
And by all that I have done wrong
I will make it all up to thee.
I saw a beggar leaning on his wooden crutch,
He said to me, you must not ask for so much.
And a pretty woman leaning in her darkened door,
She cried to me, hey, why not ask for more?

Oh like a bird on the wire,
Like a drunk in a midnight choir have tried in my way to be free.

Leonard Cohen

www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qvW63z1uzg

Bird
Bird

Birds in silhouette during a sunset over Pillar Rock and Morro Rock
Birds in silhouette during a sunset over Pillar Rock (right) and Morro Rock (left) on Morro Strand State Beach, Morro Bay, CA., 17 Dec. 2008. Photo by Michael "Mike" L. Baird bairdphotos.com Canon 1D Mark III w/ 300mm f/2.8 IS lens, circular polarizer, tripod, liveview.

Tech note: Liveview almost takes the fun out of getting the exposure correct – ISO 200, f/7.1, 1/320. I wanted time to be ~1/mm ~= 1/300 or faster, and ISO no higher than 200, so I took the f/7.1 resultant aperture when the live histogram and image looked just right.

Greg got a much better shot of this sunset this day.

Bird
Bird

Bird on Horseback
If anybody knows the bird hitching a ride on the mare, please let me know. View at full size for a closer look. I think it might be a female blackbird but I’m far from sure and blackbirds are still quite rare in these parts.

Bird

